Year 2017

Year 2016

  • Professor Supriyo Mitra awarded the "National Geoscience Award (2016)" by Ministry of Mines in recognition of significant contribution to Applied Geology.
  • Professor Supriyo Mitra has been selected as Member of the Research Advisory Committee, National Center for Seismology (NCS), Ministry of Earth Sciences (2016-2017).
  • Dr. Chilla Malla Reddy has received 2014-2015's Swarnajayanti Fellowship.
  • Dr. Amirul Islam Mallick and Dr. Rahul Das has received 'Early Career Research Award' from SERB-India
  • Contribution to the momentous discovery of  'Gravitational Waves' by Dr. Rajesh Kumble Nayak and Ms. Anuradha  Samajdar
  • Prof. Prasanta Sanyal being awarded the 'National Geoscience Awards-2014' from Ministry of Mines in recognition of his significant works in the field of basic Geosciences.

Dr. R. A. Mashelkar

Dr. R. A. Mashelkar, conferred with the prestigious national award Padma Vibhushan for the year 2014. We all feel proud as Dr. Mashelkar served as the Chairman, Board of Governors of IISER Kolkata.

Dr. C.N.R. Rao

Dr. CNR Rao, First Chairman, Board of Governor of IISER Kolkata, has been chosen for the Bharat Ratna Award.

Dibyendu Nandi

Dr. Dibyendu Nandi has been elected as a Vice-Chairman of COSPAR panel on space weather. His tenure will be for four years, 2012 to 2016.

COSPAR (Committee on Space Research) is a wing of the International Council of Scientific Unions (ICSU) and advices the United Nations and Government space agencies on space cooperation and also organizes space science meetings and workshops.

Soumitro Banerjee

September, 2012: Prof. Soumitro Banerjee, Professor in the Department of Mathematics and Statistics (and adjoint Professor in the Department of Physical Sciences) have been elected as a fellow of Third World Academy of Sciences.

Melinda Bera

April, 2012: Dr. Melinda Kumar Bera, Assistant Professor in the Department of Earth Sciences received the INSA Young Scientist Award! The award is for his "Significant contribution to study of isotopic and sedimentological attributes of Himalayan foreland sediments."

Dibyendu Nandi

January, 2012:The 2012 Karen Harvey Prize of the American Astronomical Society's Solar Physics Division, which recognizes a significant contribution to the study of the Sun early in a person's professional career, has been awarded to Dr. Dibyendu Nandi of the Department of Physical Sciences, IISER Kolkata "for his advances in the use of kinematic dynamo models to elucidate the typical and atypical solar cycle, and for his outstanding leadership within the solar physics and space climate communities". This is the first time that the Harvey Prize is being awarded to a scientist working in the Asia-Pacific region.

Dr Dibyendu Nandi's research interests include understanding the activity of the Sun and how this activity affects environmental conditions in space and on Earth. After obtaining his PhD degree in the field of solar physics from the Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore, Dr. Nandi spent seven years in the USA primarily working at Montana State University on various NASA projects. He also held visiting positions at the Harvard Smithsonian Center for Astrophysics and the University of St Andrews, UK. Dr. Nandi joined IISER Kolkata at the end of 2008. His other awards and honours include the Martin Forster Gold Medal from the Indian Institute of Science, the United Kingdom British Council's Research Exchange Programme award, the Parker Lectureship of the Solar Physics Division of the American Astronomical Society and the Ramanujan Fellowship of the Government of India. His publications span leading international journals, including Science and Nature. Dr. Dibyendu Nandi is involved with India's first solar mission "Aditya" – which is to be launched by ISRO and leads the Center for Computational Space Sciences – a multi-institutional Center of Excellence approved for funding by MHRD – which is envisaged to support national space missions, astrophysics projects and provide space weather forecasts.

Supriyo Mitra and Ritesh Kumar Singh

July, 2011:Dr. Supriyo Mitra, Associate Professor of Earth Sciences and Dr. Ritesh Kumar Singh, Assistant Professor of Physical Sciences have been elected as Associates of the Indian Academy of Sciences!

Partho Sarothi Ray

January, 2011: Dr. Partho Sarothi Ray of DBS, received a Welcome Trust/DBT Award for his research!

Dhananjay Nandi

January, 2011: Dr. Dhananjay Nandi, Assistant Professor in the Department of Physical Sciences received the INSA Young Scientist Award! The award is for “devised the new technique of velocity map imaging and used it to make novel contributions in low-energy electron-molecule collisions”.

As a graduate student at TIFR, Dr. Dhananjay Nandi took up the challenging task of building a novel ion momentum imaging spectrometer from scratch. This portable spectrometer is the first instrument that made an experimental breakthrough for simultaneous measurement of kinetic energy spectra and angular distribution in the entire angle of fragment ions formed in low energy electron-molecule collisions, more precisely, in dissociative electron attachment studies. This novel instrument allowed Dr. Dhananjay Nandi to make an outstanding contribution in the low energy electron-molecule collision process.

He also received the best thesis award from Indian Society of Atomic and Molecular Physics in the year 2004.

Supriyo Mitra

August 2013: Dr. Supriyo Mitra, Associate Professor in the Department of Earth Sciences received the NASI SCOPUS Young Scientist Award 2012 in Earth Oceanographic and Environmental Sciences.

January, 2011: Dr. Supriyo Mitra, Associate Professor in the Department of Earth Sciences received the INSA Medal for Young Scientist for the year 2010! The award is for his Significant contributions to our understanding of Indian crust using seismological techniques"